You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THERE WERE over 2,500 homeless children living in emergency accommodation last month.
Latest figures from the Housing Department show that there were 1,256 families homeless in Ireland in March, a rise of 32% since last year, and up 17 families on the previous month.
The number of single homeless adults also rose from 4,875 in February to 4,909 last month.
Commenting on the figures, Housing Minister Simon Coveney said they were a “stark indicator of the challenges we face as we remain focussed and determined to address this problem”.
He pointed to measures being taken to reduce the number of homeless people.
Homelessness charity Focus Ireland called for the Government to publish a strategy to deal with the issue of family homelessness specifically.
We repeat our call for urgent Govt sub strategy on family homelessness as new figures show record number of families + children homeless.
Rough sleeper figures for Dublin were also released today. They showed 138 homeless people sleeping rough in Dublin on a single night this month, an increase in over 30% since last year.
The spring rough sleeper count for the Dublin region was carried out on the night of 4 April and the morning of 5 April.
The count found a total of 138 people sleeping rough in this period. Of these, the majority (72%) were discovered within the Dublin City area (north and south).
The remaining 28% were found in Dublin’s other local areas: Fingal, South Dublin and Dún Laoghaire.
Rough sleeper counts are carried out by officials working on behalf of the Dublin Regional Homeless Executive (DRHE) twice a year. One count is carried out in spring and the other in winter.
The DRHE manages homeless services for the entirety of Dublin.
The latest count shows a drop of four people since the winter count, which took place in November.
It is up by 30% on last year’s spring count, during which 102 people were found to be sleeping rough.
The highest single count of rough sleepers in recent times occurred in winter 2014, when 168 people were found to be sleeping rough on the streets of Dublin.
The DRHE said it was working with Dublin City Council to bring another 150 emergency hostel beds on stream in the city for homeless people.
The council said it had housed 150 single persons in DCC rented accommodation in 2016 and 42 in the first quarter of 2017.
Breakdown
Of the 138 rough sleepers, 85 had previously accessed homeless services. Seven people had never accessed services and not enough info was available for the remaining 46 people.
85 of the people were Irish nationals, 13 were non-Irish. The nationalities of the remaining 40 could not be identified.
On top of the people sleeping rough outside on the night of the count, an additional 57 people slept in the Merchant’s Quay Night Café.
The Night Café provides mats on the floor for people to sleep, as well as support services.
Taking into account this figure, the total number of people counted without beds for the night in Dublin was 195. The Night Café first opened in January, 2015.
There were also 186 placements for beds in emergency hostels made through Homeless Freephone and Dublin’s Housing First on the night of the count.
The Housing First is made up of workers from charities the Peter McVerry trust and Focus Ireland and funded by the DRHE. Part of its work is to liaise with rough sleepers in Dublin on a regular basis, sourcing beds for them and maintaining a level of contact.
The DRHE also said that a “unique group” of individuals who had arrived in Dublin in recent weeks from Romania were encountered on the night of the count.
The people had arrived here either seeking employment or having been promised work.
Half of this group have been repatriated to Romania since the night of the count.
The rough sleeper count has been carried out under the jurisdiction of the DRHE since 2007.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
What should be the most important commemoration in decades looks like descending into a complete farce. Seems it’s just an annoying sideshow to this incompetent government.
Can we not just have a parade and a couple of days off? Fireworks would be nice too. It’s going to be a very emotional day. Let people find their own meaning to it. Picnics and street parties would a nice touch too and those don’t require central government planning or financing. People seem to be demanding the bodily resurrection of Christ and I don’t get it.
Fergal, there doesn’t need to be razzmatazz. A dignified few days is all most people want. Reflecting on their sacrifice, not a photo opportunity for politicians.
Very loosely mate, our liars more like. Best 1916 centenary present would be seeing this lot consigned to the political dustbin, if they’re not gone before then. The Rising was about the people, this commemoration has been hijacked again by this weasel government and their vested interests. Afraid to be proud of our revolutionary spirit. Same shysters would’ve been calling for the executions back in the day.
Up until Adams and co accepted partition – Michael Collins was cited as a traitor… now he’s being referenced by SF as a hero… its almost as if they are just like the rest of the political parties… wait a minute – turn their backs on a United Ireland – check… make silly promises they can’t keep-check.. make a u-turn on their core values – check… claim to be the descendants of the signatories – check… interesting interesting. I’d be interested in hearing Shinner O Bhots input.
Sergeant, you FG/FF/Lab/CeannComhairle troll, Michael Collins was a traitor, the ambush scene was my favourite part of the movie. He did have a great policy on the press though. SF will keep all their promises and their core values are strong from all the pilates they do. Sinn Féin are the true descendants of 1916 Sinn Féin because the names are the same.
@SOB I can’t argue with that..The names ARE similar. Reminds me of ‘Triggers brush’ from ‘Only Fools and Horses’ – has had the same brush for 19 years… only 7 new heads and 5 new handles – but its the same brush.
I just hope representatives from the UK government are consulted during the planning, and probably would be best to get input from the unionists as well. last thing we want is to protray Ireland as a nation of republican thugs, Ignorant to the feelings of people who share our island.
we should use this opportunity to show the world how European Ireland is. And how far we have come from the dark days.
The only thing is there Sean why would we consult the UK ? Nothing to do with them.. Its ok that we wanted to break the connection with them and considering that the objectives of the rising were to end the british connection its entirely inappropriate to have them involved while six counties Of ulster are still in dispute.
Republican is not a dirty word it just needs to be reclaimed from the liars and populists that its currently associated with.
Everybody know what fine Gaels version of European Ireland is Sean it’s full payments to bondholders, Broken promises ( or lies) , appointing friends to committees and boards , charging for water ( twice by the way) .. Need I go on ????
Seanieryan I am very proud of your new found open mindness. Your comments are easier to read and nicer. And nice to see you are no longer blinded by the fakes.
Use ROI, or the south.
Ireland is Ireland is Ireland, an island on the periphery of Europe.
It used to be the national aspiration to mention Ireland when really only referring to 3/4 of it… as we paid claim to the total, fine and dandy, but now it’s the National delusion.
Read the proclamation, a true 32 county republic that cherishes ALL its children.
There’s a lot you don’t get Fergal, how can you commemorate an historical event without mentioning the people who took part in it? This government couldn’t organise a piss up in a brewery!
Anyone opposing austerity misses the entire EU agenda if they do not oppose mass immigration wage-slave engineering. Both are mutual components to deliver mass perpetual emasculation & impoverishment.
EU is in the middle of a project to create a Europe of docile debt-ridden, wage-slaves/consumers, while increasing the power of global big business interests and the few unelected EU commissars based in the centre of power in Brussels who see to their financial policy needs. These double taxation water charges the property tax and triple road taxes are a means to get
you to pay for your own destruction. The fraud taxes pay the cost of mass immigration/asylum administration – dressed up as paying for austerity. These taxes are to pay for multicult policies that are touted as “enrichment” & “diversification” schemes. When we are done paying for a debt we do not owe, these charges and illicit taxes will remain to pay for Europe’s social engineering mass immigration wage-slave & consumer-cattle project .
How & why:
Europe is attempting a massive social engineering project by trying to get rid of the pre-existing
homogenous settled ethnic Europeans. These territorially bound ancient Europe ethnicities, like
other world ethnicities, contain the strongest bonds of community which if harnessed properly would pose the greatest threat to the corrupt capitalistic/collectivist forces now running rampant
worldwide, exploiting the worker and most vulnerable. The globalists like ex FG Peter Sutherland, Denis O’ Brien and George Soros, advocates of multicult mass immigration want this threat neutralised, each for their own reasons. They wish to replace these bonded cohesive European ethnicities with a continuous inflow of global migrants thus creating an expendable, obliging, limitless source of cheap labour and consumer cattle, not ancestrally bound to any country or community, but preferring to abide by the wishes of big business who direct govt. policy. Only the super rich will have ancestral and family bonds whose influence is as good as ruling over the mixed up, confused, “diversified” populace.
Caoimhín
Then explain why I am opposed to mass immigration from the EU also. Eastern Europeans and Brits are also white. As in this you are incorrect in most things you say which is why you are not worth wasting time on.
Regarding the name of the state. The only territory rightly called Ireland is the whole island of Ireland, 32 counties, which historically is the ethnic territory of the Irish, the gael and Celts of this island – all western European related peoples. The state we live in is an artificially & fraudulently constructed state of 26 counties called the Republic of Ireland, it is not Ireland proper. 6 of Ireland’s counties are under British control, but then again the Republic of Ireland and even Britain and Europe are now under occupied EU capitalist/collectivist control. European nations are no longer sovereign. The constitution was framed when Irish people knew our sovereign claim was rightly over all this island, a treacherous govt. relinquished that claim in the GFA, yet they forgot to amend their betrayal on the constitution. Truth is mightier than a treacherous pen.
Fair enough, I respect your opinion, but beg to disagree, surely it’s an oxymoron, a throw back to when Articles 2 and 3 were in force… and esteemed…
Please, otherwise do what our neighboring corporate strangle holders do, refer to the ROI when giving you a number to call when faced with the tragic state of a box of stale wheetabix.
Never mind 1916, Brian Brou should be disgusted by our delusional nomenclature.
Shinnerbot Bhot – The Fake Twitter FG led “Lyons” Site .
Typical of the Dr. Goebbels type , False Fascist speak, of The Conservative Unionist FG Party of The 26 Counties of Ireland .
Mr. Lyons types would want nothing to with 1916 Commemorations !
What can you expect when our politicians are so ashamed of our past they are going to ban history in schools,? Last week the Sindo were denying a historical fact about Michael Collins , such is their desire to obliterate their own past . This video was probably produced by Celtic tiger cubs !
Interesting Diarmuid – up until say 1999 the green ribbon was used as support for Political prisoners now it means something else – all symbols evolve – and its time the Easter Lilly was taken back.
Very few people wear the Lily nowadays, mainly thanks to years of sullying militant Republicanism. People should remember, however unpalatable, that physical force Republicanism was the driving force behind the British withdrawal from 26 of our counties after seven and a half centuries. 750 years of brutal subjugation was ended thanks to our brave and heroic fighting men and women. That’s before we talk about the 6 counties post partition.
The savagery that occurred in the North from the 16th century to the present day is a direct result of British government policy to infiltrate Ireland with loyalists and thus hold this land which they viewed as so vital to both their status and their very survival as a global super power. Well we were the first British/English colony, the only white people ever to be colonised… and we were the first to break the yoke, and inspire millions from India to South Africa… See we are a special people and this is a special land. God’s favourite place.
First time I’ve seen this video. Biggest pile of shite. A video purely for tourism and a bad one at that.
It’s no wonder the relatives of the 1916 heroes are distancing themselves from such tripe. Just goes to show this government can’t do anything properly without offending the masses. I’m surprised Mein Fuhrer Enda wasn’t in it somewhere and have it double as an election video as well.!!
I was going to say the same its like a Bord failte ad. Who in the name of God thought up this ad it has nothing to do with 1916 christ almighty can they not get anything right. I love to see how much it cost.
I want no german queen or english minister at Éire 100 years freedom anniversary to mark the end of english rule, ask her to come to mark the Famine where the english allowed 2 million to starve to death while the shipped food out of all irish ports,
Get a grip. There will be ambassadors present at the very least and it’s very likely that *some* senior European politicians might make an appearance. A token member of the British royal family isn’t beyond the Pale of imagination either. There are international contexts to the Rising (both Jim Connolly’s movement and those German guns). Its aftermath was referenced by Lenin and it was arguably the most consequential urban insurrection since the Paris Commune. So let us please not pretend that we exist in a bubble, divorced by space and time from the rest of the world.
@traolach – you’re such an idiot – i hope you’re just commenting in irony because if you are the depth of the new generation we’re in trouble.. read a fcuking book.
There is a German communist (Merkel), a French socialist (Hollande), a Portugese Maoist Barosso and several other ultra-socialists trying to make the EU the new soviet regime, and telling the Irish to bow down. Real Germans were telling us to default.
German Economist:
Hans Werner Sinn: Why don’t you let it default? Default is the best way to solve such a problem. It doesn’t mean the bank comes to an end; it just means that the creditors have to forgive some of the debt and this is quite natural. They made the investment decision.
PK: The ECB will allow us to do this?
HWS: I don’t know what the ECB will say, but these economists whom you cite from Germany said that that should be done. And actually it was not just 270, it was a total of 480 professional economists in Germany who said it is much better to forgive the debt and ask those people who have miscalculated their chances to
reduce their claims against the banks. http://www.rte.ie/news/player/2013/0205/3482023-prof-hans-werner-sinn-discusses-the-irish-economy/
The unionists brought in German guns in the Larne gun-running, by the way.
An international context is all very well; it doesn’t mean we have to castrate our statehood to be nice.
I heard a Labour senator say the other day that we need to keep the military out of thew celebrations. says enough about those commies that they even want us to forget our past
Great! One of the most important and momentous days in this islands history and it will be completely f@#ked up by a bunch of campaign trailing freeloaders! Just once, I wish something that is so important to so many can be done right in this country!
How come so many men love to celebrate death, hero’s guns and then grumble about whether we wear a poppy or an Easter lily or maybe a sprig of shamrock would suffice.
Let’s forget 1916 and the :,,troubles ” and let our children who were not even born get on with their lives without this monkey on their shoulder
The best way to honour the 1916 rising, is to stage another one.
This time, it will be the people of Ireland against a tyrannical, Vichy government.
We, the people, WILL WIN…
But doesn’t N.Ireland cost the rest of the UK a billion or two a year maintain..prob why they would want out…the Republic could not cope,no chance of it ever happening.
This video is embarrassing. Ask anybody abroad what this is about and they wouldn’t have a clue. How much was wasted on this carp. Also by not putting the revolutionary part in it, they are probably saying ” don’t give them any ideas”
That song is cheesy and immensly irritating. Whoever wrote the lyrics for it should be banned from songwriting forever. The video also spectacularly misses the point of both the proclamation and indeed the Rising itself.
James Connolly, the Countess, Liam Mellows. They would spin in their graves if they knew what Joan Burton has turned their Labour party into, for what died the sons of Roisin, to give contracts to tax dodgers?
Connolly executed whilst strapped to a chair by the Brits in Kimainham Gaol 1916. Liam Mellows executed by the Staters in Kilmainham Gaol 1922, taken from his cell along with 3 others, Joe McKelvey, Dick Barrett and Rory O’Connor, and shot as a reprisal for an attack by Anti-Treaty IRA on the outside. 2014, Fine Gael still fulfilling the work of the foe.
@jamie – good job they shot Connolly like that – until that event the jackeens were throwing and spitting on the rebels. Labour are a disgrace much like SF they have sullied the objectives of the rising in the first place.
The foreigner had his capital at Dublin since 1170, it was always going to be hub of colonial import. Dublin’s fighting history isn’t in question. Dublin is proud of its Volunteers.
Some person had to sign off on that drival .Now can we have that person’s name and let him/her explain why we ha ‘ve wasted tax payers money on a promotion that.no one’s happy with .
This makes the annual FG commemoration of Collins at Beal na Blath look like a Party Political broadcast and nothing more, an opportunity to pay lip service to their ‘hero’ who they now seem to not give a fcuk about.
Now that we can expect our State to honour Google Facebook Intel Bono and Geldof and the likes of them I’m looking to the relatives organisation and I’ll support whatever they organise because at least they intend to honour those men and women who took on the despicable Empire and gave their lives.
The Fine Gael unionist party won’t be in power to witness these celebrations,imagine our dictator trying to sound patriotic while waving his big Deutschland flag while Merkel pats his head.
Tipperary will remember, Kerry will remember, Limerick will remember and Cork will remember the terror inflicted on the people of these counties and the men who stood up and were counted, it may not have been in 1916 but it was as a direct consequence of it. There is a lot more at play here than some Marketing genius from Bord Failte wants.
What do u expect people for god sake this is FG the brother of the Tories and union ness who if the get their way they will change it to make it look like the brave men and women were sc.m look what John bruton said about it let organise it properly and give two fin.ers to these FG/Tories
Absolute disgrace. We’re commemorating men who fought for our freedom, not trying to pack a few more Americans onto Aer Lingus flights. We should all be ashamed.
Sure what else should we expect from a national school headmaster from the back end of Mayo. His only concern is to show that Ireland PLC is open for business; so the video must show smiling paddies (his term not mine) happily going about being 21st century consumers.
God forbid we might show anything that smacks of national pride, that might give the wrong impression; like being more interested in sticking up for the rights and concerns of Irish people than the non-tax paying multinationals our beloved leaders are so fond of. He’s more interested in fumbling in the greasy till and adding half pence to the pence and prayer to shivering prayer than remembering the likes of O’Leary, Ceannt, Plunkett, Pearse, et al.
At the end of the day the only emotion that 1916 sparks in members of Fine Gael the Commonwealth Party is one of embarrassment. Bruton’s sentiments on the event are a lot closer to their real feelings than the likes of Kenny would ever care to admit. The simple truth is the wrong party is in power to do 1916 justice.
Mother of Jaysus that was shocking shite. I can’t ‘unseen’ that. I’ve just seen Ireland packaged like a product and every patronising and cloying image and phrase, straight from some marketing execs toilet, designed to show us as the ‘best little country……..’. Fair dues to Ferriter for calling this for what it is.
I agree with Diarmuid Ferriteir. I felt upset by the video. We need to honour the people who gave their lives that we might have freedom rather than be occupied by how we used or abused that freedom.
Its disgusting the way our history has been erased by successive governments. I don’t see what is so wrong about creating a slightly dark truthful provocative piece showing 1916 from an Irish perspective and then a British perspective. Then and only then we could put in some of the useless crap that exists in this tripe. The big thing I would have like to see was the relationship with the British back then and the relationship now 100 years on and how good it is.
It just seems to be a big piece of propaganda shxte that tries to cover up our past and present into something that it is not. Like the Google, Twitter, multinational bit. Its all well and good putting that in but one of the reasons why we are going mad on the streets lately over Irish Water is because these companies don;t pay their taxes. And Irish people are suffering. Very skewed vision of the country I might add.
This Government cannot respect the living How in the name of God can we expect them to Respect Our Heroes of 1916 A very brave People of the time and this Government would not be fit to clean the boots of the P.Pearce,J Connelly,E,Ceannt,T,Clarke,S.MacDiarmada,T MacDonagh,J.M Plunkett who and always will be The True Statesmen of our Nation….Kenny, Noonan, Howlin,Burton,Bruton, along with Ahearne, Haughey,just to name a few Etc you are all nothing but a disgrace and an embarrassment to Irish People and you should all hang your heads in shame for selling off All of IRELANDS assets that these men of 1916 and their Families We the People should organise festivals in each town and village ourselves for this event anyway we cannot trust those in Government to do the right thing so ket us all sort out the celebrations ourselves.As on Commentor suggested picnics events in local parks street parties etc etc You know we would do a better job of it all
Nothing to do with
A. The current government
B. The European union.
All to do with.
A. The rebellion
B. Collins, plunkett and the rest of the prisoners.
C. Every thing else of the time thsts relevant.
This sht is basically ignoring the past, because the current government think that by correctly highlighting past would only encourage people to vote sinn fein
Well, at least they have a picture of what looks like Ben Bulben. Linking us to Sligo, Yeats, the Ascendancy and an, at the very least, ambivalent poem (hot off the press, published 1921). Its a start isn’t it?
I actually like the video. Why not commemorate part of our history with something positive and also look to the present and future. We should celebrate the times we live in now and be grateful that we don’t live in a country ripped apart by war. I think the leaders of 1916 would be proud of the peaceful country we now have. If your not happy with what’s been organised, go organise something yourself.
Being the selfish northerner here but I like the implied or accidental integration of the Good Friday Agreement with the Rising. Gives the story a happier ending. I’d we’re going to remember the proclamation on the Easter weekend perhaps we should also remember to remember the GFA.
Where are the drugs that are rampant on the street. Violent crime exists on the streets too but let’s put a skewed piece of propaganda to put out a nice image of the country. We really undersell our history with the British Monarchy back then and now too.
@Roland. The commeration will be no different than the rising itself which was badly planned and carried out without the permission of Eoin McNeil who founded the Volunteers in 1913. We need to know the real history of 1916 before we glorify it.
I don’t know why people are so surprised by all this? Fine Gael are basically the home rule party of Ireland. Former Taoiseach and leader of the party john burton said there was no need for 1916 Ireland had achieved its goals in 1914. Fine Gael are not comfortable with republican
This government wants to change Ireland, so that it will become part of a political union within the E.U. To do that they will have to change what it means to be Irish by rewriting history?
Trump says US will be 'involved' in security for Ukraine as he meets Zelenskyy at White House
Updated
36 mins ago
The Daily Poll
Poll: Heather Humphreys or Sean Kelly - who would you like to see as the FG presidential candidate?
41 mins ago
The Faythe
Archeological expert criticises Wexford council over destruction of 'historic' homes
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 222 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 155 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 202 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 162 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 126 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 54 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 80 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 114 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 120 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 53 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 129 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 98 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 70 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 122 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 109 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say